24 schools already confirmed joining 2017 UNIGAMES

WITH 3 weeks to go before the official kickoff of this year’s edition of the University Games (UNIGAMES) in Dumaguete City on October 22-28, twenty-four (24) colleges and universities have already confirmed their participation.


UNIGAMES President Roger Banzuela said that weeklong event, dubbed as “The Games that Bring Us Together for Unity and Peace, will feature 10 sports disciplines.

These include the men and women athletics to be played at the Perdices Coliseum; men and women badminton at the Riverside Courts; men and women basketball at Lamberto Macias Sports Center; men and women chess at Negros Oriental Convention Center; men football at Perdices Coliseum; men sepak takraw (best regu) at Foundation University blue gym; men and women table tennis at Negros Oriental Convention Center; men and women taekwondo at Foundation University or Robinson’s place; men and women volleyball at Foundation University Gym, Valencia Gym or Barangay Talay covered gym as reserved; and men and women beach volleyball at Rizal Boulevard in Dumaguete City.

Among those schools that confirmed entries are Adamson University, Arellano University, Cebu Institute of Technology University, Colegio de Sta. Ana de Victorias, De La Salle- College of St Benilde-Manila, De La Salle University-Manila, Foundation University, Hercor College of Roxas City, Holy Angel University-Pampanga, Jose Maria College of Davao City, Mindanao State University-Tawi-Tawi, National University, Riverside College, Rizal Technological University-Mandaluyong, St. Louis University-Baguio City, St. Theresa College of Tandag, STI West Negros University- Bacolod City, University of Mindanao-Davao City, University of Mindanao Tagum College-Tagum City, University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos, University of Perpetual Help System-DALTA- Las Pinas, University of San Jose-Recoletos- Cebu City, University of Sto. Tomas, and the University of St. La Salle – which missed action last year. USLS is the erstwhile home of UNIGAMES when it founded by the late Bro. Rolly Dizon in 1996.

Banzuela hopes that other schools will soon confirm their participation.

Meanwhile, billeting centers include West Elementary Schools, South elementary Schools, Batingel Elementary School, Magsaysay Memorial elementary School, Junob Elementary School, Camanjac Elementary School and North City Elementary School.

The 2017 UNIGAMES is sponsored by FilOil, City Government of Dumaguete, Province of Negros Oriental, Foundation University, Sonak, Marathon, Butterfly, Molten, Mikasa, VolleyLife, NOVA. Milo and IYSPeace.*


Perdices Coliseum to serve as the main venue of 2017 UNIGAMES.


One thought on “24 schools already confirmed joining 2017 UNIGAMES

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s